Artist Feature: Michael Davis & Hip-Bone Music

eastman_doc-mintzer-davis_pc-leon-lucero_0116_mg_5509

Greetings fellow brassoholics and lovers of the great S.E. Shires company!

So happy and proud to announce the release of my 11th album as a solo artist, Hip-Bone Big Band! The project features a dream team line-up of musicians playing ten of my original compositions and two arrangements I did on a couple t’bone classics: 76 Trombones and Sentimental Over You. I hand picked my favorite jazz trombonists to help out with the solo work including Marshall Gilkes, Conrad Herwig, Michael Dease, Bob McChesney, Andy Martin and Bill Reichenbach. Considering I’m fortunate enough to play the finest small bore tenor trombone ever made, I couldn’t resist playing a few of the solo spots myself.

eastman_doc-mintzer-davis_pc-leon-lucero_0116img_6603

The ensemble is rounded out by a who’s who of the New York jazz scene including Vanguard Jazz Orchestra veterans Dick Oatts on lead alto, Nick Marchione on lead trumpet and Scott Wendholt handling the jazz trumpet chores. Steely Dan bari-man Roger Rosenberg and Paul Simon tenor-man Andy Snitzer come along for the ride while our big band bus was expertly driven by the Yellowjacket’s virtuosic drummer Will Kennedy. I feel incredibly fortunate and grateful to have all these brilliant musicians record this music.

eastman_doc-mintzer-davis_pc-leon-lucero_0116_mg_5541

This is the second album I’ve been privileged to record on my Shires MD and MD+ model trombones. Last year, I recorded my Bone Alone CD in which I layered all the parts myself starting with duets all the way up to tentets. To say these are the best trombones I’ve ever played is an understatement. I only wish I had them for all my previous solo efforts! One thing I can say for sure is, they will be with me on every project I do for the remainder of time.

Come check out the Hip-Bone Big Band CD at Hip-Bone Music and, while you’re there, check out our acclaimed bone2pick interview series, our Hip-Bone U online/video lessons, and all of our books for every level of brass player. Lots of cool projects on the horizon so stay tuned. Long live the Hip-Bone Big Band and S.E. Shires!

-Michael Davis

p.s. You’re all invited to check out our CD Release Concert on December 4th, 2016 at SubCulture in New York City’s East Village.  Stay tuned for more details, we’d love to see you there!

hbbb-booklet-hr

 

Leave a Reply

